So, what exactly are we doing for a living?

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

So, what exactly are we doing for a living?

Post by Rasq'uire'laskar on Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:20 am

Now that most of us are grown up and have been bodily evicted from our parents houses, what are we doing to pay for video games and an internet connection?

I'm currently working in the same food plant that I've worked at for the past seven summers. This time, though, I'm a mechanic working on the graveyard shift. When all is going well, I'm pretty much a sanitation worker with an orange bump cap instead of a blue one. Wash down the blancher when the cooling tunnels are defrosting, wash the crap out from under the pea sifters, etc.

When all is not going well, I'm scrambling over machinery and hauling in electric motors and gearboxes. If I'm really lucky, I have to go over to the shop to make something.

When all is going horribly (For me) we don't have any produce to process, so it's time to change out the belts and do inspections on the gearboxes and sprockets and yadda yadda yadda. Which means I'm crawling through week old pea mash that... here, I described it on the HBO forum yesterday.

It's the closest thing to human feces that the FDA will allow inside a food plant. Mashed peas and pods, when they accumulate in the corners of the waste conveyors and ferment for a week, smell like the breeze just downwind of a compost pile and an outhouse. The muck is brownish-black, lumpy, and sticks to everything.

Believe it or not, the waste from organic peas is worse.

So, all you guys working retail? Sit down, shut up, and start thinking about how much worse it could be.

Anyone else?
Rasq'uire'laskar
Crimson Scribe

Male Number of posts : 2927
Registration date : 2008-06-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: So, what exactly are we doing for a living?

Post by KrAzY on Mon Jul 07, 2014 6:02 pm